Meeting of the Council of Ministers on October 14, 2020

Presidency of the Council of Ministers

Eighth Constitutional Government


Press Release

Meeting of the Council of Ministers on October 14, 2020

The Council of Ministers met, at the Government Palace, in Dili, and approved, with amendments, the Decree-Law draft, presented by the Minister of State Administration, Miguel Pereira de Carvalho, on the Second Amendment to the Technical Secretariat of the Electoral Administration (STAE)’s Organic Statute. This amendment aims to create a stronger and more adequate structure, allowing the institution to provide voter citizens and political parties with a higher quality and professional service in the organization of the electoral process. Thus, by the present legislative intervention, the General Director deputies’ position is eliminated and the National Directorate of Administration and Finance, Procurement, Logistic and Human Resources, the National Directorate of Municipal Coordination and Special Administrative Region of Oe-cússe Ambeno (RAEOA), Electoral Education and Legal Affairs and the National Directorate for the Management of the Voter Registration Database, Information to the Public and External Relations.

The Law Proposal draft, presented by the Minister of Justice, Manuel Cárceres da Costa, on the Public Prosecutor’s new Statutes, was also approved, with amendments. This Law Proposal draft aims to update the Public Prosecutor’s Office professional statutes, unchanged since 2011, resolving the gaps detected over the years. With this new statutes, the Government intends to ensure three essential objectives, namely, the Public Prosecutor’s Office autonomy strengthening, the modernization and adaptation of its organic to the current requirements and the full performance of the functions that constitutionally are assigned to it, and the restructuring of the respective professional career, all in the sense of reinforcing the Public Ministry conditions to continue contributing to the good administration of justice, by providing an efficient, timely, exempt, credible, objective and fair service.

The Council of Ministers approved the Deliberation draft, presented by the Prime Minister, Taur Matan Ruak, for the Centro Nacional Chega, IP Board of Directors’ members appointment for the period of 2020-2023. Under the Decree-Law that created this public institute, the Council of Ministers decided to appoint Alzira Sequeira Freitas dos Reis, as Centro Nacional Chega, IP Board of Directors Chairwoman and Felicidade de Sousa Guterres, as a Board of Directors member for the next three years. The remaining Board of Directors members, Arlindo Francisco Marçal, Jovito Rego de Jesus and Sisto dos Santos, representatives of Religious Confessions, the former CAVR/CVA Commissioner and Fongtil, respectively, will be reappointed in their terms of office for another three years.

Lastly, the President of the Special Administrative Region Authority of Oe-cússe Ambeno (RAEOA), Arsenio Paixão Bano, presented the political and legislative options underlying the Decree-Law draft on the First Amendment to the Decree-Law on the RAEOA statutes, in order to update its powers and responsibilities, to harmonize its statutes with other relevant legislative initiatives and to solve the existing gaps. END