Meeting of the Council of Ministers on January 24th, 2024

Presidency of the Council of Ministers

Spokesperson of the Government of Timor-Leste
Ninth Constitutional Government


Press Release

Meeting of the Council of Ministers on January 24th, 2024

The Council of Ministers met at the Government Palace in Dili and approved three Government Resolution projects presented by Prime Minister Kay Rala Xanana Gusmão, on the Special Administrative Region of Oecusse Ambeno (RAEOA) and the conduct of internal audits in Public Administration services.


The first Government Resolution approved aims to appoint the President and members of the Authority of the Special Administrative Region of Oe-Cusse Ambeno (RAEOA).

The Government Resolution emphasizes the need for restructuring and autonomy of RAEOA, as proposed in the Government Program, with the objective of regaining the trust of the population, revitalize economic development, and establish trustful relationships with all stakeholders, population, partners, and other interested parties.

Thus, the Government appoints Mr. Rogério Tiago de Fátima Lobato as the President of the Authority of RAEOA for a term of five years, with the primary mission of overseeing decentralization activities, educating and mobilizing the local population for conscious involvement in the economic development of the Oe-Cusse Ambeno Enclave.

The following citizens are also appointed as members of the RAEOA Authority for a five-years term: André Lao, as Regional Secretary for Administration; Elvira Manat, as Regional Secretary for Finance; Luís de Jesus Neno, as Regional Secretary for Health; Inácia Tamele, as Regional Secretary for Education and Social Affairs; Filomena Sila, as Regional Secretary for Agriculture; and Marcelino Marques Coro, as Regional Secretary for Lands and Properties, Registry, and Notary.


The second Government Resolution project aims to establish an Executive Committee for the creation of a Special Economic Development Zone in Oe-Cusse Ambeno.

The decision to establish this committee takes into consideration that almost a decade since its creation, the project to establish a Special Social Market Economy Zone has proven incapable of fulfilling the initially proposed objectives. This has raised persistent doubts about its nature, purpose, competencies, and powers, leading to its eventual discontinuation.

The population did not perceive the Special Zone as a reality capable of meeting their needs, lacking economic dynamism, social equity pursuit, and effective participation of local communities. Moreover, the management of the Special Zone often became intertwined with the administration of the Special Administrative Region of Oe-Cusse Ambeno, further increasing uncertainties regarding its role and effective impact.

The Committee is tasked with preparing and presenting to the Government, within a period of 12 months, a detailed study for the implementation of a Special Economic Zone in Oe-Cusse Ambeno, namely with comprehensive description of its objectives, implementation plan, and the budget required for the purpose.

João Mendes Gonçalves is appointed as the Coordinator of the Committee, while Régio da Cruz Salu and Herculano de Sousa are designated as Vice-Coordinators.


The third Government Resolution project presented by the Prime Minister, establishes the conduct of internal audits in Public Administration services.

In accordance with the Government Program, which advocates transparency, accountability, and integrity, this Resolution aims to strengthen internal inspection and auditing, with a focus on the State Inspectorate General, promoting a culture of good performance and accountability.

The objective is to establish mechanisms to monitor, evaluate, and control the functioning of services, contributing to more efficient administration. The Resolution determine the conduct of audits in all ministries and indirect administration services of the State, to be completed within six months. Preliminary reports must be presented within one month, highlighting violations of legal rules.

The Minister of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers is tasked with ensuring the implementation of the audits and developing, in collaboration with the General State Inspectorate and Public Service Commission, a plan to standardize and ensure the quality and effectiveness of these mechanisms.


According to the draft presented by the Vice Minister for ASEAN Affairs, Milena Maria da Costa Rangel, the Council of Ministers decided to granted the Ambassador of Timor-Leste to the Republic of the Philippines full power to signing of the Agreement between the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste and the Republic of the Philippines on visa exemption for holders of diplomatic and service passports.


Lastly, according to the project presented by the Minister of Public Works, the Council of Ministers decided to authorise the procurement procedure for the expenditure related to the rehabilitation of municipal roads, Package 6 - Alas to Wedauberek, Seg. 0+000-23+000, ICB/108/MOP-2022. END