Political System


Semi-Presidencialist Republic

The Head of State is the President of the Republic, who is elected by popular vote for a five-year term. The President guarantees the respect for the Constitution and for State Institutions, and when necessary, can act as a mediator for conflit resolution. He can also exercise the right to veto legislation put forth by the government and approved by the National Parliament.

Following legislative elections, the president appoints as prime minister the leader of the majority party or majority coalition. As Head of State the President also presides over the Council of State and the Superior Council of Defense and Security.

The unicameral Timorese parliament is the National Parliament or Parlamento Nacional, whose members are also elected by popular vote to a five-year term. The number of seats can vary from a minimum of 52 to a maximum of 65. All legal political parties can run to the legislative elections, organizing to that effect their list of candidates to the National Parliament. The Government is the Executive body of the State and is responsible for the development and implementation of the Government Program for the 5 year term. The Head of the Government is the Prime-Minister.