Swearing in of the new Minister of Finance

Mon. 23 of November of 2020, 17:45h

The President of the Republic, Francisco Guterres Lú Olo, installed today, November 23rd, 2020, the new Minister of Finance of the 8th Constitutional Government, Rui Augusto Gomes, at the Nicolau Lobato Presidential Palace, in Dili.

Rui Augusto Gomes, who led the commission responsible for drafting the Economic Recovery Plan, replaces Fernando Hanjam, who resigned from office due to illness condition.

The Prime Minister, Taur Matan Ruak, in his speech, thanked and praised “the high sense of mission” of Rui Augusto Gomes, in accepting “taking on the challenging governmental responsibilities inherent to the position” and stressed that the new Minister of Finance has “an academic and professional experience in the economic, budgetary and financial areas, marked by studies developed in the fight against poverty, in the promotion of sustainable economic and social growth, in the promotion of structural changes and in the defence of the fair and equitable distribution of income”.

The Head of Government thanked the work carried out by the outgoing Minister of Finance who “despite the commitment and determination with which embraced the leadership functions of one of the most complex and central government departments for the functioning of the Executive and the entire public administration, in a particularly difficult and demanding period, marked by the preparation of the proposals for General State Budgets for 2020 and 2021, he will not be able to continue the work it started, for health reasons”.

Taur Matan Ruak also expressed his “special appreciation and gratitude” to the Vice-Minister of Finance, Sara Lobo Brites, “who, during the convalescence of the incumbent Minister, temporarily had to assume the position of Minister of Finance”.

Lastly, Prime Minister also gave “a word of thanks to all citizens, workers, families, communities, entrepreneurs, development partners and non-governmental organizations, for the renewed support and trust” with whom they have distinguished the Government throughout of this difficult year of 2020, recognizing and thanking its “resistance, resilience and discipline in the implementation of the different measures adopted by the Government, throughout this year, and specially during the seven periods of state of emergency that we have declared”.