Swearing-in of the new President of the RAEOA

Fri. 12 of June of 2020, 15:21h
IMG_0120 copy

Arsenio Paixão Bano, was today, June 12, 2020, sworn-in as President of the Special Administrative Region of Oé-Cusse Ambeno (RAEOA), by the Prime Minister, Taur Matan Ruak, in a ceremony held at the Government Palace in Dili.

The RAEOA was created in 2014 with the aim of promoting the inclusive development of the Region, giving priority to socio-economic activities to promote the quality of life and well-being of the community.

Arsenio Bano replaces José Luís Guterres in the position he had already assumed on an interim basis in 2019, after the end of the term of office of former RAEOA President Mari Alkatiri.

In his speech after the signing of the term of office, Arsenio Bano said that he was "with great honor, as a native of  Oé-Cusse", assuming the position of President of the RAEOA, with the mission of developing his homeland.

The new President took a back at the progress already made in the region since the creation of the RAEOA in 2014, recalling the work of former President Mari  Alkatiri.

Arsenio Bano promised that during his term of office he will remain 95% of the time in Oé-Cusse  and that he will put all his effort into the development of the region.

The Prime Minister, Taur Matan Ruak, began by thanking José Luís Guterres, "who took over his mission in a politically troubled period" and "also with the situation of COVID-19".

The Head of Government also said that the new President and his team could count on the full support of the central government and called for the unity of all the citizens of  Oé-Cusse  around the development of the region.