



PRESS RELEASE

Extraordinary Meeting of the Council of Ministers of July 24, 2018

The Council of Ministers met at the Government Palace, in Díli, and approved the Decree-Law that approves the Organic Structure for the Eight Constitutional Government.

The approved organic structure aims to encourage the improvement of service delivery to the public and expedite the State machine, without losing sight of objectives regarding efficiency, effectiveness and accountability.

The Government is composed of the Prime Minister, the Minister of State, the Minister Coordinator, Ministers, Vice-Ministers and Secretaries of State, with the following structure:

- a) Minister of State and of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers.
- b) Minister Coordinator for Economic Affairs.
- c) Minister for Legislative Reform and Parliamentary Affairs
- d) Minister for Finance;
- e) Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation;
- f) Minister of Justice:
- g) Minister for State Administration;
- h) Minister for Health;
- i) Minister of Education, Youth and Sports



- j) Minister of Higher Education, Science and Culture
- k) Minister of Social Solidarity and Inclusion
- I) Minister for the Affairs of Former Combatants of National Liberation
- m) Minister for Planning and Strategic Investment;
- n) Minister for Public Works;
- o) Minister for Transport and Communication;
- p) Minister for Tourism, Commerce and Industry;
- q) Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries
- r) Minister for Defence;
- s) Minister of Interior;
- t) Minister for Oil and Mineral Resources.

To carry out their duties, some Ministers are assisted by Vice-Ministers and Secretaries of State:

- a) The Minister Coordinator for Economic Affairs is assisted by the Secretary of State for Vocational Training and Employment, by the Secretary of State for Development of the Cooperative Sector
- b) The Minister for Legislative Reform and Parliamentary Affairs is assisted by the Secretary of State for Social Communications;
- c) The Minister for Finance is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Finance;
- d) The Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation;
- e) The Minister for Justice is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Justice and by the Secretary of State for Land and Property;
- f) The Minister for State Administration is assisted by the Vice-Minister for State Administration;



- g) The Minister for Health is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Primary Healthcare and by the Vice-Minister for the Strategic Development of Health;
- h) The Minister for Education, Health and Sport is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Education, Youth and Sport and by the Secretary of State for Youth and Sport;
- The Minister for Higher Education, Science and Culture is assisted by the Secretary of State for Art and Culture;
- j) The Minister of Social Solidarity and Inclusion is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Social Solidarity;
- k) The Minister for the Affairs of Former Combatants of National Liberation is assisted by the Secretary of State for the Affairs of Former Combatants of National Liberation;
- I) The Minister for Public Works is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Public Works;
- m) The Minister for Tourism, Commerce and Industry is assisted by the Vice-Minister for Tourism, Commerce and Industry;
- n) The Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries is assisted by the Secretary of State for Fisheries:
- o) The Minister of Interior is assisted by the Secretary of State for Civil Protection;

The Secretary of State for Equality and Inclusion is directly dependant of the Prime Minister. END

