

IV CONSTITUTIONAL GOVERNMENT SECRETARIAT OF STATE FOR THE COUNSIL OF MINISTERS

PRESS RELEASE

Meeting of the Council of Ministers of 7 December 2011

The Council of Ministers met this Wednesday, 7 December 2011, in the Counsil of Ministers meeting roon, in the Government Palace, in Díli, and approved:

1. Decree-Law that approves the extraordinary payment of one month's base salary to the public sector

The IV Constitutional Government develops a policy of preservation of human resources connected to the State of Timor-Leste and thus, there is the recognition of the work done by the State employees and, at the same time, the stimulus for a better performance.

This legislation approves the extraordinary payment of a month of basic salary to employees and agents, even if temporary but contracted for at least one year on the payment date set by this Decree, to the leaders of the Civil Service, those listed in Article 2 and to members of the organs under state sovereignty.

This measure is equitable, even though it is of exceptional character.

2. Proposed Government Resolution on the Double Taxation Agreement with Portugal

This law aims to establish a compromise between the Portuguese Republic and the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste to effectively eliminate double taxation and to establish mechanisms of cooperation between the two parties to prevent fiscal evasion with respect to taxes on income.

3. Government Decree approving the fourth amendment to the Government Decree that regulates the status of the members of the Sovereign Organs

Law No. 7 / 2007 of 25 July, adopted the Statute of the holders of the organs of sovereignty, regulated by Government Decree No. 2 / 2007 of 1 August.

Based on the experience of implementation of the mentioned diplomas, the need arises again to change the Government's Decree No. 2 / 2007 of 1 August, in order to better define the rights and privileges therein, thus shaping a transparent and sustainable system, that recognizes and at the same time, enhances the importance of the former holders of the organs of sovereignty to Timor-Leste.