



DILI, JULY 15<sup>TH</sup>, 2016

## PRESS RELEASE

## Council of Ministers' meeting of July 15<sup>th</sup>, 2016

The Council of Ministers met this Friday at the Government Palace in Dili, and approved the signing of the Framework Agreement for the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste's Contribution to the Catholic Church. The agreement provides that the annual financial contribution of Timor-Leste to the Catholic Church, for social and educational activities and for purposes of ecclesial governance, is determined by specific agreements between the Government and Timor-Leste's Episcopalian Conference, and is dependent on the availability of State funds. It should be remembered that the terms of the financial contribution are set out in the agreement signed between Timor-Leste and the Holy See in August of last year.

On the **appointment of the members of the National Electoral Commission (NEC)**, which is in progress, the Government must nominate one of the seven commissioners, in accordance with the second amendment to Law N. 5/2006, of December 28<sup>th</sup>. The Council of Ministers has identified Odete Maria Belo as a commissioner of the NEC and Teresinha Maria Noronha as alternate, and will now inform the National Parliament of its decision.

The Council of Ministers also analysed the evolution of two major basic infrastructure projects: the improvement and maintenance of the **road from Dili to Tibar** and the operation and maintenance of the **Hera and Betano power plants**. The Ministry of Public Works, Transport and Communications also presented the **payment process action plan** for essential basic infrastructures projects.