





25 July, 2014 Díli, Timor-Leste

The 10th Conference of the Heads of State and Government of the CPLP concludes in Díli

The high point of the Community of Portuguese Language Countries [CPLP] Summit being held in Díli took place on the 23rd of July with the convening of the 10th Conference of the Heads of State and Government of the CPLP. Member States Angola, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe and Timor-Leste were represented.

The conference elected H.E. Taur Matan Ruak, President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, as Chair of the Heads of State and Government of the CPLP Conference for the next two years.

Themed "CPLP and Globalization" the conference recognized the need develop strategies on economic and business cooperation and to identify mechanisms to support investment and business within the community to stimulate the insertion of the CPLP in the context of Globalization.

The accession of Equatorial Guinea as the ninth member of the Community was approved and Associate Observer status was granted to Georgia, Namibia, Japan and Turkey.

The Conference recognized the financial and technical assistance given by Timor-Leste to Guinea-Bissau which had created conditions for proper voter registration and contributed to a free and fair election process.

The CPLP also noted officially that they expected the delimitation of maritime boundaries between Australia and Timor-Leste to be carried out in accordance with the principles of international law and the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea.

The conference ended with the signing of the Díli Declaration which outlined the decisions made by the delegates and concluded with congratulations to the authorities of Timor-Leste "for their excellent organization" and a vote of thanks "for the welcome and hospitality given to all participants at the 10th Conference of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Portuguese Language Countries."**ENDS**



Ágio Pereira +670 77045002 agio.pereira@cdm.gov.tl govtImedia@gmail.com www.timor-leste.gov.tl